By USA Today Bestselling Author Louise Bay


Adult Contemporary Novella Series

Part Two Release: April 27, 2015

Amazon | Goodreads

Haven had thought she was wrong about Jake, but apparently she should have trusted her instincts. He wasn’t the man she thought he was. The chink that Jake managed to put in her armor has healed over. She’s shut down and as far as she’s concerned, it’s all business between them from now on.

Thrown together on another assignment, anger, frustration and jealousy are at the forefront of Jake’s emotions. Will Jake convince Haven that he really cares or will he let her go as she insists he must?

What the Lighting Sees – Part Two – is the second part in a three part novella series.

Part Three is out on May 25th and is available for pre-order now.


We pick back up with Jake and Haven after she hears what she wants to hear and decides that Jake isn’t who she thought she was. Is that vague enough for you? Basically, there’s a massive miscommunication and even though Haven acknowledges that fact, she’s unwilling to reopen her heart to the possibility of having it shatter into a million pieces.

I oscillated back and forth between wanting to shake Haven and now wanting to slap Jake. PEOPLE, GET IT TOGETHER. DON’T YOU KNOW YOU’RE MEANT TO BE?! Louise Bay creates lots of drama in this second installment that will have you dying to get these two in the same room together so that they can work their shit out.

We get a little deeper look into Jake’s mind this time around. As his feeling for Haven become clearer, so does his need to fight harder to win her back. Haven’s smart and witty mouth reappears towards the end of this installment and I welcomed its reappearance. There’s a big cliffy at the end of this one that you can pretty much guess if you have an ounce of common sense, but I don’t care. I want more!

Overall, this book is fun, passionate and a great read. A solid 4.5 star rating from this gal.

[I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review]


Part One Released: March 31, 2015

Amazon: US | UK | Canada | Australia

Barnes and Noble: US | Nook UK

iTunes | Kobo

Jake Harrison is everything that Haven Daniels hates about men: over-confident, born into money and too handsome for his own good. Haven finds it difficult to keep her opinions to herself and can’t help but tell Jake exactly what she thinks of him, again and again.

Haven Daniels is uptight, smart and a bit of a bitch – the perfect challenge for Jake. It doesn’t hurt that she’s movie star beautiful and has no idea.

Forced to work together, verbal sparring turns into sexual chemistry but men like Jake are trouble and Haven has had enough trouble to last her a lifetime.

Will Haven give into Jake’s charms? Can Jake peel off Haven’s prickly mask, revealing the woman he knows lies beneath?

Series Release Schedule:

Part One: March 31, 2015

Part Two: April 27, 2015

Part Three: May 25, 2015

About the Author

USA Today Bestselling Author Louise Bay writes sexy, contemporary romance novels – the kind she likes to read. Her books Faithful and Hopeful are stand-alone novels although there are some overlapping characters. Bestselling The Empire State Series of novellas starts with A Week in New York. My next series is What the Lightning Sees.

Ruined by romantic mini-series of the eighties, Louise loves all things romantic. There’s not enough of it in real life so she disappears into the fictional worlds in books and films.

Louise loves the rain, the West Wing, London, days when she doesn’t have to wear make-up, being on her own, being with friends, elephants and champagne.

She loves to hear from readers so get in touch!

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | Pinterest | Newsletter